Will you join the fun at REbarcamp?

Register today for the Monday afternoon Illinois REbarcamp and you’ll add to the list of 170 REALTORS® who already plan to attend during the IAR Business Meetings at the Hilton Chicago/Oak Brook Hills Resort.

The can’t-miss event – powered by the Illinois Young Professionals’ Network – features the latest in industry digital trends, business and marketing tips, as well as what’s happening in real estate. Did we mention it’s free?

The popular, unstructured learning and networking opportunity starts at 1 p.m. in the Prince of Wales room and continues until 4:30 p.m. Breakouts will be held in the Windsor and Westmont rooms.

An After Party Networking reception will follow in the hotel lobby bar from 4:30 to 6:00 p.m.

YPN leaders want your participation.

New book offers REALTOR® safety tips for discount

Place your order today for “The Little Red Book: Safety Rules to Live by for REALTORS®,” and you can save 10 percent on the member price for the National Association of REALTORS®’ (NAR) ideal safety resource.

Created with input from more than 1,000 NAR members, the books take a lighthearted but practical approach for conducting open houses, protecting identities, improving cyber safety and personal safety. You’ll be eager to share what you’ve learned with colleagues because the content lends itself to conversation.

REALTORS® can order the “Little Red Book” – 4.25 inches wide by 5.5 inches tall – in packages of five for $19.95 ($29.95 regular price), they can choose a digital download for $9.95 ($19.95 regular price) or they can purchase the “Little Book” series together for $35.90 (five packs of the Little Red Book and the Little Blue Book: Rules to Live by for REALTORS®).

REALTORS® who order now can save an additional 10 percent when they use the code: LRB10.

Visit Store.Realtor.org/LRB and find out more today!

Two Illinois REALTORS® to be honored with SRES Outstanding Service Award

Two Illinois REALTORS® have been selected as recipients of the 2015 SRES Outstanding Service Award for work on senior housing issues.

The Senior Real Estate Specialist designation is held by REALTORS® who have gone through training to meet the housing needs of an aging population. Those holding the designation received training to help seniors sell homes, buy homes which are a better fit and finance their housing transactions.

Those honored from Illinois are:

  • REALTOR® Jim Kinney

    Jim Kinney, vice president of luxury home sales for Baird & Warner in Chicago and president of the Illinois Association of REALTORS®. As IAR president, he commissioned the Senior Housing Working Group to look at how Illinois was handling an aging population. The working group generated a package of recommendations aimed at raising the visibility of senior housing issues and which looked at ways to provide resources to real estate professionals and the clients they serve.

  • REALTOR® Mike Rickert

    Michael Rickert, who served as chair of the Senior Services Task Force for the Mainstreet Organization of REALTORS®. He is owner of Rickert REALTORS® in Des Plaines. Rickert’s task force started with six members and quickly grew to 50 including REALTORS® and other community professionals. Members made presentations to the community on senior housing issues and staged a Senior Resource Rally to help consumers connect with REALTORS®.

The two Illinois winners will be honored at a ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 14, 2015, at the National Association of REALTORS® Conference and Expo in San Diego.  You can get information on going to the ceremony here.

Morning Minute: Signs show housing is shifting to a buyer’s market

Image: Bigstock

This fall is a good time to be a homebuyer. Home prices are affordable and the seasonal shift means homes may take a little longer to sell than in the summer, giving potential buyers more negotiating leverage, according to Jonathan Smoke, chief economist for realtor.com® in a recent blog post.

“The residential real estate market remains strong and healthy as autumn begins, but the momentum has clearly shifted in favor of buyers,” he said. “Would-be buyers have struggled to find a home all year, but now inventory is nearly as high as it has been all throughout 2015, and it isn’t moving as quickly. Likewise, price appreciation remains above normal levels but has declined from the higher pace of the spring and summer.”

Read more about the trend in the realtor.com® blog post, “The 20 Hottest Markets in September 2015,” and in this post, “Advantage: Home Buyers?,” from NAR’s Daily Real Estate News.

In other headlines:

2015 started as most affordable housing market in two years – HousingWire

Is it Time to Downsize your Home? – KCM Blog

NAR honors Goodwin and four other Good Neighbor winners

Illinois REALTOR® Daniel L. Goodwin, chairman and chief executive officer for the Inland Real Estate Group, Inc., of Oak Brook, was named today as one of five REALTOR® Magazine’s 2015 Good Neighbor Award winners.

Goodwin, a member of the NAR RPAC Investors Hall of Fame, and the other winners each receive $10,000 grants for their charities. Goodwin’s charity is the New Directions Housing Corp, a non-profit organization he founded in 1994 to supply low-income Illinois residents with affordable housing. New Directions has built or rehabilitated hundreds of multi-family units as well as worked with other groups to provide food, after-school care for children, immunizations and more to the people it serves.

Also, Goodwin is a member of the NAR President’s Circle, the Illinois Association of REALTORS® Hall of Fame and the Chicago Association of REALTORS® Hall of Fame. He is the founder of Retail Properties of America REIT and is chairman of the National Association of Real Estate Trusts Non-traded REIT Council. He is chairman of the Board of Inland Bancorp and a director of the Chicago Better Government Association.

Other Good Neighbor Award winners, who’ll receive $10,000 grants for their charities are:

  • Susan Stearns, GRI, Berkshire Hathaway, California Properties, Calabasas, Calif.;
  • Barbara Mills, RE/MAX Realty One, Inverness, Fla.;
  • John Kersten, CRB, Century 21 Town & Country, Rochester Hills, Mich.; and
  • Nancy E. Hines, CRS, GRI, F.C. Tucker Co. Inc., Avon, Ind.

All five will be featured in the November/December issue of REALTOR® Magazine and will receive crystal trophies Nov. 14 at the 2015 REALTORS® Conference & Expo in San Diego.

In addition, five more individuals received honorable mentions and will receive $2,500 grants for their charities:

  • George Demchak, Kissinger Bigatel & Brower, REALTORS®, State College, Penn.;
  • George S. Lucas, Harbor Country, Union Pier, Mich.;
  • Ida M. Petkus, Keller Williams, Medford, N.J.;
  • Dona Reynolds, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Stein & Summers Real Estate, St. Joseph, Mo.; and
  • Stephen L. Seidl, Seidl & Associates, a division of ShoreWest, REALTORS®, Green Bay, Green Bay, Wis.

Kersten was also celebrated as the Web Choice winner for receiving the most fan votes. As a result, Easter Seals of Michigan will receive an additional $1,000 grant.

In late August, the NAR announced 10 finalists for the awards, including Goodwin.

The Good Neighbor Awards have been granted annually since 2000 and are presented by NAR’s REALTOR® Magazine. More than $1 million in grants have been awarded to the winners’ charities since the inaugural award.

Liberty Mutual Insurance was the primary sponsor of the 2015 awards, according to NAR.