Federal shutdown ends, rural development housing program reopens

Now that the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Rural Development offices have reopened, housing assistance programs will begin processing applications as funds are restored. Illinois residents will be interested to know that eligibility for communities based on the 2010 Census has been extended to Jan. 15, 2014 for the following communities where ongoing rural eligibility has been in doubt :

  • Carbondale
  • Carterville
  • Charleston
  • Chatham
  • Crainville
  • Energy
  • Freeport
  • Herrin
  • Marion
  • Maryville
  • Morris
  • Plano
  • Rantoul
  • Shiloh
This entry was posted in Consumer Information, Housing Market by Stephanie Sievers. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie Sievers

Stephanie Sievers is Senior Editor for the Illinois Association of REALTORS®. She serves as Senior Editor for IAR publications including the Illinois REALTOR® magazine and all other IAR publications. She is responsible for developing content for the Illinois REALTOR® Weekly Connection e-newsletter, coordinates the IAR Twitter account content at ILREALTOR and plans and develops content for videos. She assists in developing and writing content for the IAR blog. She also is involved in researching and drafting news releases and coordinates the news media distribution database and newsclips reports for the Association. She also assists in IAR spokesperson training seminars and is involved in development of association briefing materials on issues. She assists with the housing statistics program and reports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *